Construction NVQ's

How do you know which construction NVQ to choose when there are so many to choose from?

NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) are delivered in the workplace involving practical and knowledge assessments and are designed to demonstrate a learner’s occupational competence. NVQs give learner the opportunity to work and achieve a qualification at the same time. This means you can study at the level that’s right for your job role and level of experience, and progress accordingly.

All our assessors are industry qualified in their occupational trade, so you will get the best advice, guidance and support required to complete you NVQ qualification.

Your assessment is based on the practical activity you undertake in the workplace and a portfolio of evidence to show that you meet occupational standards. A qualified assessor will observe you while you’re at work and question you to test your knowledge and understanding.

Just give us a call and one of our trained staff will be on hand to answer any questions and provide you with the support you need in getting the right Construction NVQ qualification.



Higher levels of Construction NVQ means an enhanced CSCS card for you



Red CSCS Card


NVQ Trainee

This card is valid for five years and cannot be renewed. Cardholders are expected to complete their qualification by the time the card expires and apply for a skilled CSCS card.

This temporary card is available if you are a trainee and registered to complete a construction related qualification. The qualification may be vocational, academic or professional, but must be acceptable for a skilled CSCS card.

Applicants must also have passed the Operative level CITB Health, Safety and Environment test within the last 2 years.


Green CSCS Card


NVQ Level 1

The Labourer card is specifically for people carrying out labouring duties. Do not apply for this card if you work in a skilled occupation – to find the correct card for your occupation,

This card is valid for five years.

All applicants must pass the CITB health, safety and environment test for operatives and hold one of the following:

An RQF Level 1/SCQF Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment. Please note: the RQF Level 1 Award is a lifetime qualification.

An SCQF Level 5 REHIS Elementary Health and Safety Certificate.

The NOCN/CSkills Awards Construction Health and Safety (F/618/0738) unit

A CSCS Alternative qualifications with an expiry date can only be used once, so you will need to retake these qualifications in the future when you renew your Labourer card.



Blue CSCS Card


NVQ Level 2

You can apply for this card if you have either:

Achieved a construction related NVQ or SVQ level 2 or Completed an apprenticeship, such as an Employer sponsored apprenticeship, a City and Guilds of London Institute Craft Certificate or a CSCS Approved Trailblazer

If you do not have these qualifications, but you are experienced in your job and have registered for a qualification applicable to your occupation, you may apply for an Experienced Worker Card.

All applicants must have passed the CITB Health, Safety and Environment test within the last 2 years, at the relevant level for the occupation being applied for.

This card is valid for five years.


Gold CSCS Card


NVQ Level 3

This card is available for supervisor and technical occupations subject to the achievement of:

Construction Related Supervisory/Technical NVQ or SVQ Level 3 or 4

Occupational Work Supervision NVQ or SVQ Level 3 (including proof of endorsed occupation). 

This card is valid for five years.

All applicants must pass the Supervisors CITB Health, Safety & Environment Test.    Before you book your test check out the requirements for your occupation using card finder.


Black CSCS Card


NVQ Level 4-7

This card is available for manager and technical occupations subject to:

Achievement of a relevant Construction Management/Technical related NVQ/SVQ level 5, 6 or 7

A SVQ Level 4 in Construction Management/Technical related qualification or

Holding a pre-existing NVQ level 4 in construction management.

This card is valid for five years.

All applicants must pass the CITB Managers and Professionals Health, Safety and Environment Test.



Call us now at 0333 011 6266 so we can help you take the next steps in your career.